Committee on Membership

The membership of the Committee on Membership consists of the CEO or designate and nine (9) persons selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three-year terms. The President-Elect appoints the Chair from among the nine members. The Committee suggests to Council means for improving the relationship between the Society and its members, for enhancing services, including APS publications that the Society provides to its members on payment of their membership dues, and for improving other activities in the area of membership as delegated to it by the Council.

Chair: Colin Howard (01/18 - 12/19)
ICU Medical

Member: Sunil Labroo (01/19 - 12/21)
SUNY Oneonta

Member: Rudi Michalak (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Wyoming

Member: Horacio Gasquet (01/19 - 12/21)
Persimmon Ridge Ventures

Member: Shuo Chen (01/18 - 12/20)
University of Houston

Member: Marla Dowell (01/18 - 12/20)
National Institute of Standards and Technology Boulder

Member: Vasudevan Lakshminarayanan (01/19 - 12/21)
University of Waterloo

Member: Sean Keller (01/18 - 12/20)
Raytheon Missile Systems

Member: Thomas David Cohen (01/17 - 12/19)
University of Maryland, College Park

Student Member: Joshua Einstein-Curtis (01/19 - 12/19)

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members