Historic Sites Committee

The Historic Sites Committee (HSC) selects sites to be included in the American Physical Society Register of Historic Sites and submits them to Council for approval. These are sites where individuals or institutions have made outstanding contributions to the physics enterprise. The committee approves the wording on the plaques that are presented for display at selected sites and the APS staff work with representatives from the sites to arrange for suitable presentation ceremonies.

The membership of the HSC includes six (6) members nominated by the Committee on Council Committees (CCC) and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three (3) year terms.

The President-Elect appoints the Vice Chair, after consulting with the current committee members. The Vice Chair serves a one (1) year term, followed subsequently by a one (1) year term as Chair, and then a one (1) year term as Past Chair. The Vice Chair’s committee membership term is automatically extended to cover their service in the Chair line.

The HSC is a Council Committee.

  • Sally Seidel, Chair
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2024)
    University of New Mexico
  • Bruce Reed
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
    Alma College
  • Howard Matis
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
  • James Hollenhorst
    (Jan 1, 2022 – Dec 31, 2024)
    Agilent Technologies, Inc.
  • Timir Datta
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2026)
    University of South Carolina
  • Andrew Rogers
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2026)
    University of Massachusetts Lowell
  • Shelly Lesher
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
    University of Wisconsin - La Crosse

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.