Committee on Council Committees

The Committee on Council Committees (CCC) provides guidance on the membership and the functioning of committees reporting to the Council of Representatives. The CCC monitors the expertise needed on each Council committee, being mindful that committees should include broad and appropriate representation of the community. It makes recommendations to the President-Elect for candidate appointments to Council committees, assisting the President-Elect in determining the willingness of candidates to serve.

The membership of the CCC includes nine (9) members elected by Council to staggered three (3) year terms, and the Chair of the Nominating Committee (NC). The NC will identify candidates for CCC membership for election by the Council. The committee also includes one (1) member representing each of the Forum on Graduate Student Affairs (FGSA), the Forum on Early Career Scientists (FECS), the Forum on Diversity and Inclusion (FDI), the Forum on International Physics (FIP), and the Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics (FIAP). The Forum representatives are recommended by the respective Chair of each Forum, in consultation with the executive committee of the Forum, and they are appointed by the President-Elect as voting members to staggered three (3) year terms.

The President-Elect appoints the Vice Chair, after consulting with the current committee members. The Vice Chair serves a one (1) year term, followed subsequently by a one (1) year term as Chair, and then a one (1) year term as Past Chair. The Vice Chair’s committee membership term is automatically extended to cover their service in the Chair line.

The CCC is a Council Committee.

  • Beverly Hartline, Chair
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2024)
    Montana Technological University
  • John Wilkerson
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2026)
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Kandice Tanner
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2026)
    National Institutes of Health (NIH)
  • Robert Bernstein
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2026)
    Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (Fermilab)
  • Robin Selinger
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
    Kent State University
  • Laurie McNeil
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
    University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Gabriela Gonzalez
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
    Louisiana State University
  • James Freericks
    (Jan 1, 2022 – Dec 31, 2024)
    Georgetown University
  • Ursula Keller
    (Jan 1, 2022 – Dec 31, 2024)
    ETH Zurich
  • Karen Daniels, Chair, Nominating Committee
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2024)
    North Carolina State University
  • Jeanette Russo, Corporate Secretary
    American Physical Society (APS)
  • Victoria Lautsch, Staff Liaison
    American Physical Society (APS)

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.