Finance Committee

The Finance Committee (FC) reviews and advises on the APS budget process and oversees the Society’s investments and financial affairs. With the APS Officers, it establishes overall goals and objectives for the next fiscal year in preparation of an annual budget and conducts other activities relevant to the APS budget. It provides the CEO with strategic guidance and with critical consideration of fundamental budget assumptions.

The membership of the FC includes the Treasurer, the President-Elect, the Vice President, the CEO (non-voting), and CFOO (non-voting), and three (3) other members of the Board who are not officers of the Society or members of the Audit Committee (AC), selected by the Board Executive Committee (BEC) and appointed by the President-Elect to serve staggered three (3) year terms, and up to two (2) external experts with finance and planning expertise selected by the Treasurer, confirmed by the BEC, and appointed by the President-Elect. The external experts are not required to be members of the APS and they serve at the pleasure of the committee Chair. The Treasurer chairs the committee.

The FC is an advisory Board Committee.

  • David G. Seiler, Chair
    (Jan 1, 2022 – Dec 31, 2024)
    National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • John M. Doyle, President-Elect
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2024)
    Harvard University
  • John Marston, Vice President
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2024)
    Brown University
  • Nai-Chang Yeh
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2026)
  • Peter Schiffer
    (Jan 1, 2022 – Dec 31, 2024)
    Princeton University
  • William Barletta
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Jonathan Bagger, Chief Executive Officer
    American Physical Society (APS)
  • Jane Gould, Staff Liaison
    American Physical Society (APS)

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.