Investment Committee

The Investment Committee (IC) advises the Finance Committee (FC) on APS investments and investment policies. It reviews the investment policies of the Society and the strategy and performance of the Society’s investments manager and makes recommendations to the FC concerning these policies. Recommendations proposed by the IC are included in FC reports to the Board.

The membership of the IC includes the Treasurer, the CEO (non-voting), the Vice President, and three (3) other APS members selected by the Board Executive Committee (BEC) and appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three (3) year terms, and up to two (2) external experts with investment expertise selected by the Treasurer, confirmed by the BEC, and appointed by the President-Elect. The external experts are not required to be members of the APS and they serve at the pleasure of the committee Chair. The Treasurer chairs the committee.

The IC is an advisory Board Committee.

  • David Seiler, Chair
    (Jan 1, 2022 – Dec 31, 2024)
    National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • John Marston, Vice President
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2024)
    Brown University
  • Andrew Baden
    (Jan 1, 2022 – Dec 31, 2024)
    University of Maryland College Park
  • Todd Adams
    (Jan 1, 2023 – Dec 31, 2025)
    Florida State University
  • Angela Wilson
    (Jan 1, 2024 – Dec 31, 2026)
    Michigan State University
  • Jonathan Bagger, Chief Executive Officer
    American Physical Society (APS)

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.