General Election

2018 APS General Election

The 2018 APS Nominating Committee is pleased to present the candidates for this year’s General Election. This year, APS members have the opportunity to elect a new vice president, chair-elect of the nominating committee, international and general councilors, and a treasurer.

The online polls will open on July 2 and close on August 10, 2018. Those who are elected will begin their terms on January 1, 2019.

Once again, APS has partnered with Survey & Ballot Systems to administer the election via email. To make sure that you receive a ballot, add to your approved sender list. To request a paper ballot, contact Ken Cole at

Please refer to the following biographical summaries and candidate statements to select the candidate(s) who you feel will best represent the Society’s interests.


Vice President
Sylvester James Gates, Jr., Brown University
Edward (Rocky) Kolb, University of Chicago

James Hollenhorst, Agilent Technologies
James Baird, University of Alabama in Huntsville

General Councilor
Marcelle Soares-Santos, Brandeis University
Robin Selinger, Kent State University

International Councilor
Enge Wang, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Guowei He, Institute of Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Chair-Elect of the Nominating Committee
Kevin McFarland, University of Rochester
Nora Berrah, University of Connecticut