Polymer Physics Prize

To recognize outstanding accomplishment and excellence of contributions in polymer physics research. The prize consists of $10,000, up to $1,500 in travel reimbursement, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It is presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This prize was established in 1960 and fully endowed by APS in 2018. The prize is funded through the support of the DPOLY community and a number of commercial sponsors.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to all scientists of all nations regardless of membership in the Society or the geographical location in which the work was carried out. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but a prize may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 3, 2024

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2024 Selection Committee Members: Ryan Hayward (Chair), Anna Balazs, Lynn Walker, Jian Gong, Juan De Pablo, Timothy Lodge, and Rachel Segalman

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2024 Recipient

Zhen-Gang Wang
California Institute of Technology

Past Recipients

2023: Jian Ping Gong
2022: Sanat K Kumar
2021: Samson A. Jenekhe
2020: Kurt Binder
2019: Ronald G. Larson
2018: Juan J. de Pablo
2017: Monica Olvera de la Cruz
2016: Anna C. Balazs
2015: Mark D. Ediger
2014: Karl Freed
2013: Stephen Z.D. Cheng
2012: Matthew Tirrell
2011: Gary Grest
          Kurt Kremer
2010: Michael Rubinstein
2009: Steve Granick
2008: Kenneth S. Schweizer
2007: Glenn Fredrickson
2006: Ludwik Leibler
2005: Thomas Paul Russell
2004: Timothy Lodge
2003: Andrew J. Lovinger
2002: Tom Witten
2001: Masao Doi
2000: Lewis John Fetters
1999: Charles C. Han
1998: Murugappan Muthukumar
1997: Frank Steven Bates
1996: Alan Neville Gent
1995: Jacob Klein
1994: Hyuk Yu
1993: Benjamin Chu
1992: Philip A. Pincus
1991: Edwin L. Thomas
1990: William W. Graessley
1989: Eugene Helfand
1988: Richard H. Boyd
1987: Hiromichi Kawai
          Takeji Hashimoto
1986: Andre J. Kovacs
1985: Edward J. Kramer
          Roger P. Kambour
1984: Frank E. Karasz
          William J. MacKnight
1983: Hiroyuki Tadokoro
          Motowo Takayanagi
1982: Pierre-Gilles deGennes
          Sir Samuel Edwards
1981: Robert Simha
1980: Marshall Fixman
1979: E. W. Fischer
1978: Henri Benoit
1977: Samuel Krimm
1976: Richard S. Stein
1975: Walter H. Stockmayer
1974: Frank A. Bovey
1973: Frank J. Padden, Jr.
          H. Douglas Keith
1972: Anton Peterlin
1971: John D. Hoffman
          John I. Lauritzen
1970: William P. Slichter
1969: Charles W. Bunn
1968: Arthur V. Tobolsky
1967: Edmund A. DiMarzio
          Julian H. Gibbs
1966: John D. Ferry
1965: Peter J. W. Debye
1964: Andrew Keller
1963: Bruno H. Zimm
1962: Paul J. Flory