Polymer Physics Prize

Nomination guidelines
Jian Ping Gong, 2023 recipient
Jian Ping Gong, 2023 recipient

To recognize outstanding accomplishment and excellence of contributions in polymer physics research. The prize consists of $10,000, up to $1,500 in travel reimbursement, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It is presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations are open to all scientists of all nations regardless of membership in the Society or the geographical location in which the work was carried out. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but a prize may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This prize was established in 1960 and fully endowed by APS in 2018. The prize is funded through the support of the DPOLY community and a number of commercial sponsors.

Recent recipients

Jian Ping Gong

2023 recipient

For outstanding contributions to the understanding of mechanical and fracture properties of hydrogels based on novel network architectures and for discovering the concept of double network gels based on internal overstressed sacrificial bonds.

Sanat K Kumar

2022 recipient

For fundamental experimental, simulatory, and theoretical contributions to understanding structure, assembly, and dynamics in polymer nanocomposites and thin films.

Samson A. Jenekhe

2021 recipient

For pioneering and sustained outstanding contributions to the synthesis, photophysics, and structure-morphology-performance relationships in semiconducting polymers for electronic and photovoltaic applications.

Kurt Binder

2020 recipient

For outstanding contributions to statistical physics of polymers, in particular phase transitions and critical phenomena, and for demonstrating the role of polymers as key systems to study central concepts of modern condensed matter physics.

Ronald G. Larson

2019 recipient

For wide ranging, multi-disciplinary contributions to understanding the structure, dynamics, and rheology of polymeric materials in melt, solution, glassy, mesomorphic, and multi-phase states, including viscoelastic instabilities, constitutive equations, alignment transitions, and phase behavior.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Polymer Physics Prize

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
$10,000, up to $1,500 in travel reimbursement

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.