Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding experimental research in nuclear physics, including the development of a method, technique, or device that significantly contributes in a general way to nuclear physics research. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It will be presented annually.

Establishment & Support

This prize was endowed in 1964 as a memorial to Tom W. Bonner by his friends, students and associates.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to physicists whose work in nuclear physics is primarily experimental. There is no time limitations on work described. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, June 1, 2020

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.


2021 Selection Committee Members: R. Maruyama (Chair), C. Keppel (Vice-Chair), R. Milner (’20 Recipient), A. Gade, C. Gagliardi

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

Nominees and award and office holders are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

2021 Recipient

Geoffrey L Greene
University of Tennessee

Geoffrey Greene

Past Recipients

2020: Richard Milner
2019: Barbara V. Jacak
2018: Bradley M. Sherrill
2017: Charles F. Perdrisat
2016: I-yang Lee
2015: Howard Wieman
          Miklos Gyulassy
2014: William A. Zajc
2013: Michael K. Moe
2012: Witold Nazarewicz
2011: Richard F. Casten
2010: Robert B. Wiringa
          Steven C. Pieper
2009: Robert D. McKeown
2008: Arthur M. Poskanzer
2007: Stuart J. Freedman
2006: Ian Towner
          John Hardy
2005: Roy James Holt
2004: George Bertsch
2003: Arthur Bruce McDonald
2002: J. David Bowman
2001: Claude Lyneis
          Richard Geller
2000: Raymond G. Arnold
1999: Vijay Raghunath Pandharipande
1998: Joel M. Moss
1997: Hamish Robertson
1996: John Dirk Walecka
1995: Felix Boehm
1994: Ernest K. Warburton
1993: Akito Arima, Francesco Iachello
1992: Henry G. Blosser
          Robert E. Pollock
1991: Peter J. Twin
1990: Vernon Hughes
1989: Ernest M. Henley
1988: Raymond Davis, Jr
1987: Bernard Frois, Ingo Sick
1986: Lowell M. Bollinger
1985: Eric G. Adelberger
1984: Harald A. Enge
1983: Charles D. Goodman
1982: G. E. Brown
1981: Bernard L. Cohen
1980: Frank S. Stephens, Richard M. Diamond
1979: Roy Middleton, Willy Haeberli
1978: Sergei Polikanov, V. M. Strutinsky
1977: Stuart T. Butler, G. Raymond Satchler
1976: John P. Schiffer
1975: Chien-Shiung Wu
1974: Denys Wilkinson
1973: H. Feshbach
1972: John D. Anderson, Donald Robson
1971: M. Goldhaber
1970: W. A. Fowler
1969: Gregory Breit
1968: R. G. Herb
1967: C. C. Lauritsen
1966: R. J. Van de Graaff
1965: H. H. Barschall