Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics

To recognize outstanding experimental research in nuclear physics, including the development of a method, technique, or device that significantly contributes to nuclear physics research. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It will be presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations are open to physicists whose work in nuclear physics is primarily experimental. There is no time limitations on work described. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This prize was endowed in 1964 as a memorial to Tom W. Bonner by his friends, students and associates.

Recent recipients

Wit Busza

2024 recipient

For pioneering work on multi-particle production in proton-nucleus and nucleus-nucleus collisions, including the discovery of participant scaling, and for the conception and leadership of the PHOBOS experiment.

Jen-Chieh Peng

2023 recipient

For pioneering work on studying antiquark distributions in the nucleons and nuclei using the Drell-Yan process as an experimental tool, and for seminal work on elucidating the origins of the flavor asymmetries of the light-quark sea in the nucleons.

David W Hertzog

2022 recipient

For advancing the frontiers of understanding nature's fundamental symmetries via unprecedented precision studies of the muon, including its lifetime, its anomalous magnetic moment, and its measurement by the pseudoscalar coupling constant.

Geoffrey L Greene

2021 recipient

For foundational work establishing the field of fundamental neutron physics in the US, for developing experimental techniques for in-beam measurements of the neutron lifetime and other experiments, and for realizing a facility for the next generation of fundamental neutron physics measurements.

Richard Milner

2020 recipient

For pioneering work developing and using polarized internal targets in storage rings and for leadership in the study of the structure of the nucleon in a wide range of electronuclear experiments.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
Memorial to Tom W. Bonner by friends, students and associates
$10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.