Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award

This award recognizes doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in beam physics and engineering. The annual award consists of $2,500 for the recipient, a certificate, a travel reimbursement up to $500, and a registration waiver to receive the award and present a talk at a meeting of the APS Division of Physics of Beams.

Establishment & Support

The award was established in 1990 by the Division of Physics of Beams and is supported by Brookhaven Science Associates, Fermi Research Associates, and Southeastern Universities Research Association/Jefferson Lab.

Rules & Eligibility

A nomination will be accepted for any doctoral student of a university world-wide for work performed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nominees must pass their thesis defense not more than 18 months before the nomination deadline. An individual can only be nominated once; however, an unsuccessful candidate will be carried over for 1 year.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, September 9, 2019

The 2019 Award will be presented during the 2019 NA-PAC’19 conference to be held in Lansing, MI.

Nomination should include;

  1. APS Prizes and Awards nomination form (nominee’s contact information, thesis date)
  2. Nominees thesis
  3. Biographical Sketch
  4. Nominating Letter
  5. Additional Letters of Support
  6. List of Publications
  7. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee)

***Please be sure to submit all nomination materials in English.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2020 Selection Committee Members: Bruce Dunham (Chair), Andrei Seryi (Vice-Chair), Rami Kishek (Past Chair), Andrea Macchi ('19 Recipient Advisor), Alexander Valishev, Ying Wu, John Zasadzinski 

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.