Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award

Nomination are open
Minghao Song
Minghao Song, 2024 recipient of the Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award.

This award recognizes doctoral thesis research of outstanding quality and achievement in beam physics and engineering. The annual award consists of $2,500 for the recipient, a certificate, a travel reimbursement up to $500, and a registration waiver to receive the award and present a talk at a meeting of the APS Division of Physics of Beams. Additionally, the recipient will receive a lifetime membership to APS and the Division of the Physics of Beams.

Rules and eligibility

A nomination will be accepted for any doctoral student of a university world-wide for work performed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nominees must pass their thesis defense not more than 18 months before the nomination deadline. An individual can only be nominated once; however, nominations will be considered for two review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

Nomination should include:

  1. APS Prizes and Awards nomination form (nominee’s contact information, thesis date)
  2. Nominees thesis
  3. Biographical Sketch
  4. Nominating Letter
  5. Additional Letters of Support
  6. List of Publications
  7. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee)

Please be sure to submit all nomination materials in English.

Selection Committee

  • Jared Maxson (Chair)
  • Sergei Nagaitsev (Vice Chair)
  • Mark Hogan
  • Giuliano Franchetti
  • Steve Lidia
  • Fanglei Lin
  • Chandra Raman

Establishment and support

The award was established in 1990 by the Division of Physics of Beams and is supported by Brookhaven Science Associates, Universities Research Association, Inc., and Southeastern Universities Research Association/Jefferson Lab. In 2022, David Yu generously contributed to the award by providing an APS lifetime membership to the recipient in perpetuity.

Recent recipients

Minghao Song

2024 recipient

For outstanding work on studying autoresonant excitation of accelerator beams and its application in beam-based diagnostics, and for developing and applying machine-learning-based methods in storage ring design and online optimizations.

Chao Li

2023 recipient

For seminal and highly creative contributions to the development of microfabricated, miniature atomic beam technology and the invention of new chip-scale techniques that enable precise and targeted delivery of neutral atoms.

Ihar Lobach

2022 recipient

For outstanding research contributions to our understanding of undulator radiation fluctuations, and for developing an experimental method to determine electron beam properties from these fluctuations.

Lieselotte Obst-Huebl

2021 recipient

For outstanding experimental work in laser-driven proton acceleration establishing unprecedented performance with high-repetition rate cryogenic hydrogen jet targets, opening the path to real-world applications, and for the discovery of an all-optical method to shape proton beam profiles.

Siqi Li

2020 recipient

For seminal contributions in laser shaping of electron beams in photocathode RF guns and for laser streaking measurements of attosecond pulses in X-ray Free-Electron Lasers.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Beam Physics Award

Nominations deadline
September 2, 2024
American Physical Society
APS Division of the Physics of Beams (DPB)

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.