Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases

The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. An allowance will be provided for travel expenses of the recipient to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is bestowed. As a result of generosity from Intel Corporation, Lam Research, and Micron Technology, Inc. APS will now award the Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases on an annual basis.

Rules and eligibility

The Allis Prize is given for outstanding contributions to understanding the physics of partially ionized plasmas and gases. Nominations are open to scientists of all nations regardless of the geographical location at which the work was done or the scientific society affiliations of the nominee. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but the prize may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations are active for two nomination cycles pending recertification by the nominator.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

in addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

The prize was established in 1989 by contributions from American Telephone and Telegraph, General Electric, General Telephone and Electronics, International Business Machines, and Xerox Corporations in recognition of the outstanding contributions of Will Allis to the study of ionized gases.

Recent recipients

Vincent M. Donnelly

2024 recipient

For sustained, pioneering research elucidating fundamental physical and chemical mechanisms of plasma etching of microelectronic materials, enabled by the invention of novel plasma and plasma-surface diagnostics, including advanced optical spectroscopy and the 'spinning wall' method.

Toshiaki Makabe

2022 recipient

For the ground-breaking development of novel computational methods, and for leading seminal experimental investigations of low temperature plasmas and their applications.

Michael Allan

2020 recipient

For outstanding contributions to the field of electron-atom and electron-molecule collisions, particularly studies of resonance and threshold effects in inelastic electron scattering and dissociative electron attachment processes.

Leanne Pitchford

2018 recipient

for the development and application of methods to accurately compute rate coefficients and charged particle transport coefficients, and their application to predictive modeling of low-temperature plasmas.

Klaus Bartschat

2016 recipient

For fundamental theoretical and computational contributions to the understanding of charged-particle and photon collisions with atoms and molecules and for providing critical data and insight to the plasma modeling community.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
General Electric
General Telephone and Electronics
$10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.