J. J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding achievement in particle theory. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is to be awarded, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It will be presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. The prize may be awarded to more than one person on a shared basis. The prize will normally be awarded for theoretical contributions made at an early stage of the recipients research career. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This prize was endowed in 1984 as a memorial to and in recognition of the accomplishments of J. J. Sakurai by the family and friends of J. J. Sakurai.

Recent recipients

Andrzej J. Buras

2024 recipient

For exceptional contributions to quark-flavor physics, in particular, developing and carrying out calculations of higher-order QCD effects to electroweak transitions, as well as for drawing phenomenological connections between kaons, D mesons, and B mesons.

Heinrich Leutwyler

2023 recipient

For fundamental contributions to the effective field theory of pions at low energies, and for proposing that the gluon is a color octet

Nima Arkani-Hamed

2022 recipient

For the development of transformative new frameworks for physics beyond the standard model with novel experimental signatures, including work on large extra dimensions, the Little Higgs, and more generally for new ideas connected to the origin of the electroweak scale.

Vernon Barger

2021 recipient

For pioneering work in collider physics contributing to the discovery and characterization of the W boson, top quark, and Higgs boson, and for the development of incisive strategies to test theoretical ideas with experiments.

Pierre Sikivie

2020 recipient

For seminal work recognizing the potential visibility of the invisible axion, devising novel methods to detect it, and for theoretical investigations of its cosmological implications.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

J. J. Sakurai Prize for Theoretical Particle Physics

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.