Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics

Nominations are open
Xiaoyang Zhu, 2023 recipient
Xiaoyang Zhu, 2023 recipient

This prize recognizes notable contributions to the field of molecular spectroscopy and dynamics. The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for travel expenses, up to $1000, to attend the meeting at which the prize is to be presented and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The recipient is invited to contribute a perspective article to The Journal of Chemical Physics. It is presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

The prize may be given for experimental or theoretical achievements, for a single dramatic innovation, or for a series of research contributions which, when integrated, amounts to a major contribution to the field of molecular spectroscopy and dynamics. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but a prize may be shared when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This prize was established in 1976 and is now sponsored by The Journal of Chemical Physics, an AIP Publishing journal.

Recent recipients

Anders Nilsson

2024 recipient

For seminal contributions in the application of x-ray spectroscopy methods to the molecular dynamics of water and catalytic reactions.

Xiaoyang Zhu

2023 recipient

For seminal research in the spectroscopy and dynamics of molecular condensed materials.

Arthur G. Suits

2022 recipient

For foundational studies in photodissociation and reaction dynamics, especially the identification of roaming atom dynamics, and for innovative developments in charged particle detection in molecular beams, such as the DC sliced ion imaging method.

Martin T. Zanni

2021 recipient

For the development and application of ultrafast, nonlinear visible and infrared spectroscopies and pioneering the use of pulse shaping techniques in the infrared, enabling insightful studies into chemical, biological, and materials systems.

Anna Krylov

2020 recipient

For innovative work developing high accuracy electronic structure theory to inspire interpretation of spectroscopy of radicals, excited states, and ionization resonances in small molecules, biomolecules, and condensed phase solutes.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy & Dynamics

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.