Mildred Dresselhaus Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomaterials

The Dresselhaus Prize recognizes an outstanding scientist in the areas of nanoscience or nanomaterials. The prize is conferred annually and includes a $10,000 stipend, a certificate citing the contributions of the recipient, and a reimbursement of up to $2,000 for travel to an APS meeting to receive the honor and deliver an invited talk.

Nominations for the inaugural prize opened on January 1, 2022 and close on the date below. The first Dresselhaus Prize was conferred at the 2023 APS March Meeting.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations are open to any individual who has made seminal contributions to the field of nanomaterials or nanoscience. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch
  • A list of the most important publications
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters
  • Up to five reprints or preprints

Establishment and support

APS established the Dresselhaus Prize to honor the remarkable scientific career and inspiring community legacy of Mildred S. Dresselhaus. In 2018, the Millie Dresselhaus Fund for Science and Society was developed in close cooperation with Millie’s son, Paul Dresselhaus, and daughter, Marianne Cooper. The Prize was endowed in 2021, which was made possible by generous gifts from the Heising-Simons Foundation, the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation, national laboratories, foundations, and many individuals who hope to continue Millie’s legacy. The Prize will be given in perpetuity to inspire the next generation of leaders in nanoscience and nanomaterials.

Recent recipients

Naomi Halas

2024 recipient

For creating nanoparticles and complexes with tunable optical resonances resulting from hybridized surface plasmons, and demonstrating applications of these nanomaterials that range from photothermal cancer therapy to hot electron photodetection and modular plasmonic photocatalysis.

Eva Y. Andrei

2023 recipient

For the experimental exploration of the exotic properties of low-dimensional electron systems, including the discovery of the fractional quantum Hall effect in graphene and the electronic structure of twisted graphene bilayers that led to the field of moiré materials.

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Mildred Dresselhaus Prize in Nanoscience and Nanomaterials

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
Heising-Simons Foundation
Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
$10,000 stipend, a certificate, travel reimbursement of up to $2,000

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.