Leo P. Kadanoff Prize

APS Honors Nominations
Itamar Procaccia, 2023 recipient
Itamar Procaccia, 2023 recipient

This prize recognizes scientists whose theoretical, experimental, or computational achievements have opened new vistas for statistical and or nonlinear physics. The annual prize consists of $10,000, a medal, certificate, travel reimbursement up to $500 for recipients traveling within North America, up to $1,000 from overseas, and a registration waiver to attend the APS March Meeting to give an invited talk and accept the award.

Rules and eligibility

Selection Committee Composition Description: The selection committee is composed of six people, three of whom are representatives from the GSNP Executive Committee, and three additional members from the international statistical physics and nonlinear physics community.

Process and selection

A nomination consists of:

  • The nominee’s name, institution, contact information
  • A suggested citation (usually citations do not include the person’s name, and start with “For...”. See the APS prize and award recipients page for examples. Limit the citation to 300 characters or less, including spaces)
  • A nomination letter evaluating the nominee's qualifications in the light of the particular features of the prize or award and identifying the specific work or achievement to be recognized
  • At least two, but no more than four, letters of support
  • Complete a provided demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee).
  • The nominee’s CV or biosketch (optional)
  • A list of the nominee’s most important publications (optional)
  • Up to five reprints or preprints (optional)

All files must be written in English and uploaded in PDF format. Letters must be on letterhead, dated, and signed physically or with an electronic signature. Include the name of the nominee in the filenames.

Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Establishment and support

The Kadanoff Prize was conceived and proposed by the APS Group on Statistical and Nonlinear Physics (GSNP) to honor the memory and celebrate the remarkable legacy of Leo Kadanoff. Kadanoff, who served as APS president from 2007-2008, had an enormous impact on statistical and nonlinear physics. He himself was the recipient of many of the field’s most prestigious awards. His influence was broad and his originality deep – broader and deeper than a list of his research papers would suggest. His accessible approach to the renormalization group has been emulated in an array of fields and his lectures and popular writings have inspired a generation of scientists.

The Kadanoff Prize was established in 2018 with contributions from the family, friends, and collaborators of Leo Kadanoff, and individual donations from a broad spectrum of the American Physical Society. The Prize was fully endowed soon after by a generous gift from an anonymous donor.

Recent recipients

Itamar Procaccia

2023 recipient

For groundbreaking contributions to statistical and nonlinear physics, including the Grassberger-Procaccia algorithm for obtaining the attractor dimension from chaotic time series, and approaches to describe complex multifractals, diffusion-limited aggregation, and polymer drag reduction in turbulent flows.

Katepalli R. Sreenivasan

2022 recipient

For pioneering experimental, theoretical, and numerical research on the nonlinear and multifractal foundations of turbulent flows.

Sidney Redner

2021 recipient

For leadership in transcending traditional disciplinary boundaries by applying and advancing deep concepts and methods of statistical physics to gain novel insights into diverse real-world phenomena.

Nigel Goldenfeld

2020 recipient

For profound contributions to the fields of dynamical pattern formation, superconductivity, and fluid turbulence, together with creative developments and exposition of the theory of the renormalization group.

M. Cristina Marchetti

2019 recipient

For original contributions to equilibrium and non-equilibrium statistical mechanics, including profound work on equilibrium and driven vortex systems, and fundamental research and leadership in the growing field of active matter.

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Leo P. Kadanoff Prize

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
APS Topical Group on Statistical and Nonlinear Physics (GSNP)

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.