Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize

The Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize recognizes outstanding contributions to physics and exceptional skills in lecturing to diverse audiences. The prize consists of $20,000, a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient, an allowance for travel to the APS Medal and Prize Ceremony and Reception in Washington, DC, and an invited talk at an APS March or April Meeting, plus expenses for the three lectures by the recipient given at an APS meeting, a research university, and a predominantly undergraduate institution. The prize will be presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

The prize shall be awarded for outstanding contributions to physics by a single individual who also has exceptional skills in lecturing to diverse audiences. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch
  • A list of the most important publications
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters
  • Up to five reprints or preprints

Selection Committee

  • John Doyle (Chair)
  • Daniel Fisher
  • Peter Schiffer
  • Karen Winey
  • Kenneth Brown
  • Brian Fields
  • John Wilkerson
  • Robert Bernstein
  • Michael Brown
  • Kristan Corwin
  • Bruce Carlsten
  • David Weiss
  • Xuan Chen
  • Howard Stone
  • Dragana Popovic
  • Amy Liu
  • Peter Olmsted
  • Tanja Cuk
  • Manuela Campanelli

Establishment and support

The prize was established in 1988 under the terms of a bequest of Beatrice Lilienfeld in memory of her husband, Julius Edgar Lilienfeld.

Recent recipients

Edward W. Kolb

2024 recipient

For pioneering and outstanding contributions to cosmology and particle physics, and an exceptional ability to communicate the extraordinary developments at the intersection of physics and cosmology to the general public.

Albert-László Barabási

2023 recipient

For pioneering work on the statistical physics of networks that transformed the study of complex systems, and for lasting contributions in communicating the significance of this rapidly developing field to a broad range of audiences.

Chang Kee Jung

2022 recipient

For outstanding contributions and leadership in experimental neutrino physics, and for outstanding teaching and outreach, especially on the physics of sports.

William M. Jackson

2021 recipient

For outstanding contributions to fundamental chemical physics and spectroscopy associated with asteroids and comets, and for exemplary teaching at both the undergraduate and graduate levels, as well as lifelong service and inspiration to a diverse community.

Joel R. Primack

2020 recipient

For seminal contributions to our understanding of the formation of structure in the universe, and for communicating to the public the extraordinary progress in our understanding of cosmology.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize

Nominations deadline
May 1, 2024
Service and teaching
The Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize was established under the terms of a bequest of Beatrice Lilienfeld in memory of her husband, Julius Edgar Lilienfeld.
$20,000, a certificate, travel allowance, an invited talk

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.