Herman Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding research in theoretical nuclear physics. The prize should consist of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. It is presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations are open to physicists whose work in nuclear physics is primarily theoretical. There are no time limitations on the work described in the citation. The prize shall be awarded to one person, or may be shared by up to and including three persons when all the recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This prize is supported by contributions from the Division of Nuclear Physics and friends and family of Herman Feshbach to honor him for his numerous contributions to Theoretical Physics. Major sponsors include Andrea Feshbach, Brookhaven Science Associates, Elsevier, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Los Alamos National Laboratory, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Michigan State University, University of Tennessee, Southeastern Universities Research Association, and the Lourie Foundation.

Recent recipients

Gail C. McLaughlin

2024 recipient

For seminal contributions to the study of neutrinos in explosive systems and for elucidating the profound impact of this microphysics on the synthesis of elements.

Michael J. Ramsey-Musolf

2023 recipient

For seminal contributions in precision electroweak studies of nuclear and hadronic systems, making fundamental symmetry experiments powerful probes of strong interactions and new physics.

David B Kaplan

2022 recipient

For multiple foundational innovations in nuclear theory, including in lattice quantum chromodynamics, effective field theories, and nuclear strangeness, and for strategic leadership to broaden participation between nuclear theory and other fields.

Berndt Mueller

2021 recipient

For seminal theoretical contributions to the identification of quark-gluon plasma signatures, focused on predictions of hadronic observables of the partonic state that inform the understanding of thermalization, fluctuations, flow observables, and hadronic spectra.

Ubirajara van Kolck

2020 recipient

For pioneering contributions to effective field theories of nuclear systems, which have transformed low-energy nuclear theory.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Herman Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
APS Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP)
Friends and family of Herman Feshbach
$10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.