George E. Pake Prize

This prize recognizes outstanding work by physicists combining original research accomplishments with leadership in the management of research or development in industry. The prize consists of $10,000, a certificate, and registration waiver to attend the APS meeting at which the prize will be presented. It will be presented biennially in even-numbered years.

Rules and eligibility

This prize will be awarded to one individual for outstanding achievements in physics research combined with major success as a manager of research or development in industry. Nominations are active for three years.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch
  • A list of the most important publications
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters
  • Up to five reprints or preprints

Establishment and support

This prize was endowed in 1983 by the Xerox Corporation in recognition of the outstanding achievements of George E. Pake, as a research physicist and a director of industrial research.

Recent recipients

Chih-Yuan Lu

2024 recipient

For seminal scientific innovations and outstanding contributions in device physics and semiconductor technology, and for visionary leadership of semiconductor non-volatile memory (NVM) manufacturing technology and the integrated circuit industry.

Philip J. Wyatt

2022 recipient

For pioneering accomplishments and entrepreneurial leadership exemplified by successful global commercialization of laser-based light scattering measurements with multiple applications in biotechnology, analytical chemistry, and nanoparticle characterization.

James W. Bray

2020 recipient

For outstanding contributions in applying superconductivity to MRI magnets and industrial scale generators/motors, and for the management of these and other projects that have led to world-class products and leading-edge technology innovations.

Richard Boudreault

2018 recipient

for outstanding research accomplishments in electronics, photonics, and advanced materials during his distinguished senior-level career in management and administration of scientific corporations and government institutions over a period of 40 years.

Tze-Chiang Chen

2017 recipient

For expert leadership in semiconductor technology development and deployment, as well as basic science stewardship.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

George E. Pake Prize

Service and teaching

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.