Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics

This prize recognizes outstanding work in atomic physics or surface physics. The prize consists of $5,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient or recipients.

Rules and eligibility

This prize will normally be awarded in odd years to a candidate who presents work for surface physics and in even years to a candidate who presents work for outstanding work in atomic physics. This prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person, but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. Nominations will be considered for two review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s). In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This Prize was established in 1965 by AT&T Bell Laboratories (now Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent Technologies) and with additional support from the Chope Family Trust.

Recent recipients

Anne L'Huillier

2024 recipient

For pioneering experimental and theoretical work leading to the discovery of high harmonic generation in gases and the micro- and macroscopic physics responsible for it, and for controlling the phenomenon to create and analyze attosecond pulse trains to probe ultrafast electron dynamics in matter.

Feng Liu

2023 recipient

For elucidating the influence of strain on epitaxy and nanostructure growth, and using these concepts to predict surface-based topological-insulator materials.

David S. Weiss

2022 recipient

For pioneering contributions to the experimental realization of strongly interacting one-dimensional Bose gases and groundbreaking studies of their quantum dynamics, and for contributions to quantum computing with neutral atoms in optical lattices.

Michael F. Crommie

2021 recipient

For outstanding contributions to understanding and controlling the fundamental electronic properties of low-dimensional systems at the atomic scale.

Klaas Bergmann

2020 recipient

For the invention of Stimulated Raman Adiabatic Passage (STIRAP) that became universally used for coherent transfer in quantum systems with unprecedented efficiency and robustness.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Davisson-Germer Prize in Atomic or Surface Physics

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.