Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics

This prize recognizes outstanding publications in the field of mathematical physics. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient plus travel expenses to attend the meeting at which the prize is bestowed. It will be presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

This prize is awarded solely for valuable published contributions made in the field of mathematical physics with no restrictions placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residence. "Publication" is defined as either a single paper, a series of papers, a book, or any other communication which can be considered a publication. The prize may be awarded to more than one person on a shared basis when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This prize was established in 1959 by the Heineman Foundation for Research, Educational, Charitable, and Scientific Purposes, Inc., and is administered jointly by the American Physical Society and the American Institute of Physics.

Recent recipients

David C. Brydges

2024 recipient

For achievements in the fields of constructive quantum field theory and rigorous statistical mechanics, especially the introduction of new techniques including random walk representations in spin systems, the lace expansion, and mathematically rigorous implementations of the renormalization group.

Nikita Nekrasov

2023 recipient

For the elegant application of powerful mathematical techniques to extract exact results for quantum field theories, as well as shedding light on integrable systems and non-commutative geometry.

Antti Kupiainen

2022 recipient

For fundamental contributions to quantum field theory, statistical mechanics, and fluid dynamics using geometric, probabilistic, and renormalization group ideas.

Krzysztof Gawędzki

2022 recipient

For fundamental contributions to quantum field theory, statistical mechanics, and fluid dynamics using geometric, probabilistic, and renormalization group ideas.

Joel L. Lebowitz

2021 recipient

For seminal contributions to nonequilibrium and equilibrium statistical mechanics, in particular, studies of large deviations in nonequilibrium steady states and rigorous analysis of Gibbs equilibrium ensembles.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Dannie Heineman Prize for Mathematical Physics

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
American Physical Society
American Institute of Physics
The Heineman Foundation

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.