Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics

Nomination guidelines

The prize consists of $10,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is awarded and at which the recipient will deliver the Rahman Lecture, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The prize will be presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person, but a prize may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishments. Nominations are active for three years.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

This prize was established in 1992 with support through 2020 from IBM Corporation as a means of recognizing outstanding work and disseminating information in computational physics. IBM also generously contributed to the endowment that was established in 2021, along with other donors including the family of Aneesur Rahman. A complete list of donors can be found on the Rahman Endowment page. This Prize has been endowed to be given in perpetuity.

Recent recipients

Pablo G. Debenedetti

2023 recipient

For seminal contributions to the science of supercooled liquids and glasses, water, and aqueous solutions, through ground-breaking simulations.

Giulia Galli

2022 recipient

For the development of theoretical methods to compute and engineer the electronic and structural properties of molecules and materials, broadening the applicability of first-principles computational approaches to multiple disciplines, including nanoscience, and for many predictions subsequently confirmed experimentally.

Anders W. Sandvik

2021 recipient

For the development of the stochastic series expansion algorithm, and for numerous creative applications of this method to the study of quantum phase transitions.

Antoine Georges

2020 recipient

For the development of the Dynamical Mean Field Theory as a tool for the computation of properties of strongly correlated materials.

Gabriel Kotliar

2020 recipient

For the development of the Dynamical Mean Field Theory as a tool for the computation of properties of strongly correlated materials.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Aneesur Rahman Prize for Computational Physics

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.