Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

The purpose of this award is to recognize an individual researcher who has made outstanding contributions (theoretical, experimental, computational, or technical) in plasma physics early in their career. Areas of plasma physics covered by the award include, but are not limited to: fundamental plasma physics, fusion plasmas, astrophysical or space plasmas, low-temperature plasmas, or high-energy-density plasmas.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical site at which the work was done. The award will be given every year to an early career researcher. An early career researcher is defined as an individual in the first 10 years of a research career, i.e. at most 10 years following the award of a PhD.

No person may receive the award more than once. The award is not to be given for work previously recognized by a Division of Plasma Physics (DPP) prize (e.g. the Rosenbluth award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis or the Dawson Award).

Self-nominations will not be considered. Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

The nominee selected for this award will receive a $5,000 stipend. Recipients will also receive an allowance towards registration and travel expenses to attend the Division of Plasma Physics Annual Meeting, along with a certificate acknowledging their contributions. Additionally, the DPP is pleased to offer up to two complimentary banquet tickets for both the recipient and a guest.

Establishment and support

This award was established in 2013 by a contribution from the Division of Plasma Physics. In 2023, thanks to the gracious support of Thomas Stix's friends and family, the award stipend was increased from $3,000 to $5,000.

Recent recipients

David Turnbull

2023 recipient

For pioneering experimental work on plasma photonics in the pursuit of laser-plasma applications, including Raman amplification, plasma optics, and inertial confinement fusion.

Jonathan Squire

2022 recipient

For theoretical contributions to our understanding of plasma waves and turbulence in astrophysical plasmas and the solar wind, and for the discovery and characterization of a broad class of instabilities in dusty astrophysical plasmas.

Carlos Paz-Soldan

2021 recipient

For groundbreaking contributions and scientific leadership in the understanding of non-axisymmetric magnetic fields and relativistic electrons in tokamak plasmas.

Scott Baalrud

2020 recipient

For fundamental advances to the kinetic theory of strongly-coupled plasma and plasma sheaths.

William Fox

2019 recipient

For original and seminal experiments, supported by simulations, on magnetic reconnection, the ion Weibel instability, and shocks in laboratory astrophysics.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Thomas H. Stix Award for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research

Nominations deadline
April 1, 2024
Early career and students
APS Division of Plasma Physics (DPP)

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.