Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing

Nominations are open
Nathalie de Leon, 2023 recipient
Nathalie de Leon, 2023 recipient

This award recognizes recent outstanding contributions in quantum information science, especially using quantum effects to perform computational and information-management tasks that would be impossible or infeasible by purely classical means. The award is given annually and will consist of $5,000 and a certificate citing the contributions of the recipient, plus an allowance for travel to an APS meeting to receive the award and deliver an invited lecture.

Rules and eligibility

This award recognizes outstanding quantum computing research over the past 10 years performed by a scientist within 12 years post-PhD. The research recognized could either be a single piece of work, or the sum of contributions. The focus is on exceptional work that advances the theoretical understanding and technological state of the art of quantum information processing. Should the nominee already have an APS award or prize then the Award must be based on clearly described and entirely different (or at the very least substantial further) work than that recognized in the earlier award or prize.

Process and selection

The nomination must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch, including date of Ph.D.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints and preprints.

Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline. Self-nominations are not permitted.

Establishment and support

The award, established in 2015 by the APS Division on Quantum Information (formally known as the APS Topical Group on Quantum Information), and partially endowed by the International Business Machines Corporation, honors Landauer’s and Bennett’s pioneering work for foundational discoveries between information and physics.

Rolf Landauer made many contributions to the understanding of the relationship between thermodynamics and information, the most well‐known being Landauer's principle that states the minimal energy required to erase a bit is kT ln(2). Landauer was a fellow of the APS and a winner of the Oliver Buckley Condensed Matter Physics Prize.

Charles Bennett is one of the founders of the field of quantum information and computation. Bennett is a fellow of the APS and his citation reads "for inventing reversible computation, for his analysis of Maxwell's demon, and for co‐inventing quantum cryptography and quantum teleportation." Quantum teleportation is a key primitive in quantum computation and plays a significant role in current methods for quantum error correction and universal quantum computation. Bennett’s work helped establish quantum information science as a coherent discipline, one that illuminates other areas of physics and has important practical applications.

Recent recipients

Shruti Puri

2024 recipient

For advancing the theoretical understanding of quantum fault-tolerance in the presence of biased noise.

Nathalie de Leon

2023 recipient

For substantial contributions to the field of experimental quantum information science with an emphasis on materials discovery and enhancement, and using materials to enable improved coherence across a wide range of physical platforms for quantum computing, sensing, and communication.

Liang Jiang

2022 recipient

For substantial contributions to the field of theoretical quantum information science, with emphasis on exploiting novel error correction strategies to enhance performance in a manner compatible with state-of-the-art experimental platforms, and for helping establish new foundations for fault-tolerant and practical quantum communication, computing, and sensing.

Chao-Yang Lu

2021 recipient

For significant contributions to optical quantum information sciences, especially on solid-state quantum light sources, quantum teleportation and optical quantum computing.

Fernando Brandao

2020 recipient

For outstanding achievements in entanglement theory and in the intersection of quantum computation, quantum thermodynamics, and quantum many-body physics.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.