John Wheatley Award

To recognize the dedication of physicists who have made contributions to the development of physics across the globe. The award will consist of a stipend of $5,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The award will be presented biennially, every odd-numbered year, at the general meeting of the American Physical Society.

Rules and eligibility

The award will be made to a physicist who, working in developing country has made an outstanding contribution to the development of physics in that region by working with local physicists in physics research or teaching. Nominations are open to physicists of all nationalities but the award will not be given to a person for work in his or her own country. Nominations will be considered for two review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

The award was established in 1991 with the support of Forum on International Physics.

Recent recipients

James E. Gubernatis

2023 recipient

For ongoing commitment to developing physics in Africa through initiating the African School on Electronic Structure Methods and Applications and leadership in bringing together African physicists from across the continent to create a Pan-African physics communication vehicle.

Fernando Quevedo

2021 recipient

For sustained commitment and achievement in the advancement of physics and science in developing countries.

Nathan Berkovits

2021 recipient

For exceptional leadership in fundamental physics research in South America.

Federico Rosei

2019 recipient

For sustained leadership and service to the international physics community, in particular for developing global collaborations through projects and networks in China, Mexico and several African countries, and for exceptional mentoring efforts.

Neil G. Turok

2017 recipient

For visionary efforts to provide science and math training to young Africans, to help promote technological and socio-economic development on that continent.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

John Wheatley Award

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
Service and teaching

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.