Herbert P. Broida Award

Nominations are open
Lai-Sheng Wang
Lai-Sheng Wang, 2023 recipient

To recognize and enhance outstanding experimental advancements in the fields of atomic and molecular spectroscopy or chemical physics. The award consists of $5,000, an allowance for travel to the award ceremony, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The first prize was awarded in 1980 and every odd numbered year thereafter.

Rules and eligibility

The prize is awarded to one individual in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the field of atomic and molecular spectroscopy or chemical physics. Emphasis will be given to work done within the five years prior to the awarding of the prize. Preference will be granted to an individual whose contributions have displayed a high degree of breadth, originality and creativity. Nominations will be considered for two review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

There may be additional requirements for particular prizes and awards. Please read the rules carefully.

Selection Committee

  • J. Mathias Weber
  • Georg Raithel

Establishment and support

The award was established in 1979 as a memorial to and in recognition of the accomplishments of Herbert P. Broida, late Professor of Physics at the University of California, Santa Barbara. It is supported by the friends and colleagues of Herbert P. Broida.

Recent recipients

Lai-Sheng Wang

2023 recipient

For pioneering work in characterizing solution species in the gas phase using high-resolution photoelectron imaging of cryogenically-cooled anions, and outstanding contributions in the investigation of size-selected boron clusters.

John M. Doyle

2021 recipient

For pioneering work in the field of cold molecules, and for wide-ranging studies of these molecular systems, especially laser cooling, high-precision spectroscopy, and searches for permanent electric dipole moments, providing insight into possible new physics.

Marsha I. Lester

2019 recipient

For the development of innovative methods for generating and characterizing reactive intermediates using sophisticated laser techniques that elucidate important reaction pathways in atmospheric and combustion chemistry.

Tilman Pfau

2017 recipient

For pioneering, field-opening contributions to the physics of Rydberg atoms in ultracold and room-temperature gases, and for the first observation of ultralong-range polar Rydberg molecules.

Michael Ashfold

2015 recipient

For his innovative work on molecular photodynamics, especially in combining multiwavelength experiments on small molecules, high quality electronic structure calculations, and physical organic chemistry concepts into a “bigger picture” for broad understanding of experimental photodynamics of systems of increasing complexity.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Herbert P. Broida Award

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
Friends and colleagues of Herbert P. Broida
$5,000, an allowance for travel to the award ceremony, and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.