Francis M. Pipkin Award

To recognize exceptional research accomplishments by an early-career scientist in the interdisciplinary area of precision measurement and fundamental constants and encourages the wide dissemination of the research results. The award is given biennially every odd-number year and consists of $3,000 plus support of travel expenses to the APS Meeting at which the award is conferred.

Rules and eligibility

Scientists who have held the Ph.D. degree for not more than 15 years prior to the nomination deadline are eligible for the award. The award recipient will be selected on the basis of outstanding work in the area of precision measurement and fundamental constants, as represented by his or her publications and three nominating letters. Any APS member, not a member of the award Selection Committee, may submit a nominations. Nominations will be considered for two review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter on not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Establishment and support

The award was established in 1997 by the Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants in memory of Francis M. Pipkin, an enthusiastic and active member of the topical group whose wide interests in physics included experiments in condensed matter, nuclear, high energy, and atomic, molecular and optical physics, always with a special interest in precision measurements. The award has been endowed by contributions from family members, friends, students, and colleagues of Frank Pipkin.

Give to the Francis M. Pipkin Award endowment to support early-career scientists

Recent recipients

Andrew Geraci

2023 recipient

For developing new precision measurement techniques to search for weakly coupled interactions of mesoscopic range and demonstrating the precision sensing capability of optically levitated nanoparticles.

Andrew D. Ludlow

2021 recipient

For significant contributions to the field of state-of-the-art atomic clocks and precision tests of fundamental physics.

Tanya Zelevinsky

2019 recipient

For pioneering research on producing ultracold molecules confined in optical lattices and using them for precision spectroscopy, molecular clock techniques, and tests of fundamental physics.

Jens Dilling

2017 recipient

For technical contributions and the use of Penning traps for the precise measurement of short-lived, radioactive nuclei such as halo nuclei and highly charged ions.

Holger Mueller

2015 recipient

For his contributions to precision metrology and tests of fundamental laws of physics through the development and application of atom interferometry.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Francis M. Pipkin Award

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024
Early career and students
$3,000 plus support of travel expenses

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.