Edward A. Bouchet Award

This award promotes the participation of underrepresented minorities in physics by identifying and recognizing a distinguished minority physicist who has made significant contributions to physics research and the advancement of underrepresented minority scientists. The program will help publicize the lecturer's work and career development to the physics community, especially among minority physics students. The Lectureship consists of a stipend of $5,000 plus support for travel to an APS meeting where the recipient will receive the award and give a presentation. In addition, the lecturer should arrange to give up to three additional talks at academic institutions where the impact of the visit on minority students would be significant. The purpose of these visits would be to deliver technical lectures or lectures about his/her specialty, to visit classrooms when appropriate, to assist the college/university in pre-college outreach efforts where appropriate, and to talk informally with both faculty and students about research and teaching careers in physics. Financial support will also be provided for travel to these lectures. It will be presented annually.

Rules and eligibility

Any Black, Hispanic, or Indigenous person who has made significant contributions to physics research and is an effective communicator. This award is not limited to physicists currently active in research.

Nominations will be considered for three review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter no more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

Selection Committee

  • Pablo Laguna (Chair)
  • Vianney Gimenez-Pinto
  • Kristian Barajas

Establishment and support

This award was established in 1994 by the APS Committee on Minorities in Physics, and supported for 18 years by the Research Corporation, a private foundation for the advancement of science and technology. Subsequently the Award was supported by a grant from the Alfred Sloan Foundation and is now endowed thanks to individual and institutional donations.

Recent recipients

Alvine Christelle Kamaha

2024 recipient

For leadership and key accomplishments in the experimental search for dark matter in the Universe, including advances in radioactive purity, as well as contributions to outreach, diversity, and inclusion through service and mentoring of students.

Carlos R. Ordóñez

2023 recipient

For outstanding and impactful seminal research in different areas of physics and, in parallel, for being a dedicated advocate for advancement in physics in Latin America and in the Hispanic Community in the USA.

Paul L. J. Guèye

2022 recipient

For many seminal experimental contributions to understanding the structure of nuclear particles and decades of service to physics outreach, diversity and inclusion, particularly throughout the African diaspora.

Chanda Prescod-Weinstein

2021 recipient

For contributions to theoretical cosmology and particle physics, ranging from axion physics to models of inflation to alternative models of dark energy, for tireless efforts in increasing inclusivity in physics, and for co-creating the Particles for Justice movement.

Nadya Mason

2020 recipient

For impactful experimental research on low-dimensional superconducting and topological materials and devices, and for the promotion of diversity and inclusiveness in the scientific workforce, enhancing opportunities for underrepresented groups through leadership, service, and mentoring.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Edward A. Bouchet Award

Nominations deadline
April 1, 2024
APS Committee on Minorities in Physics
Research Corporation
Alfred P. Sloan Foundation
$5,000 plus support for travel to an APS meeting where the recipient will receive the award and give a presentation.

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.