George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award

The George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award recognizes contributions to understanding condensed matter and nonlinear physics through shock compression. This award is to be presented biennially in odd-numbered years and consists of a cash award of $5,000, a plaque citing the accomplishments of the recipient, and an allowance for travel to the meeting at which it is to be presented.

Rules and eligibility

All members of the scientific community are eligible for nomination. A single award will normally be given to no more than one individual and will be presented at the biennial Topical Group Conference. Nominations will be considered for two review cycles provided the nominator re-certifies the nomination before the next deadline.

Process and selection

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s)

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch
  • A list of the most important publications
  • At least two, but not than four, seconding letters
  • Up to five reprints or preprints

Establishment and support

The award was established in 1987 by the friends of the Topical Group on Compression of Condensed Matter Physics. The award was renamed the George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award in 2007.

Recent recipients

Bruce Remington

2023 recipient

For pioneering laser-driven high-pressure, solid-state material dynamics in high-energy density regimes.

Craig M. Tarver

2021 recipient

For theoretical advancement of the understanding of shock-driven reactions and detonation in condensed phase explosives.

George T. (Rusty) Gray

2019 recipient

For pioneering contributions in dynamic constitutive and damage response of materials; for leadership in developing programs and tools to advance our understanding of materials and structures in response to high-strain-rate and shock deformation; and for leadership in the technical community.

Marc André Meyers

2017 recipient

For pioneering contributions to understanding extreme behavior in a wide range of materials undergoing shock-compression, including deformation, fracture, phase transformations, and chemical reactions.

Jerry W. Forbes

2015 recipient

For his advances in shock-compression science involving phase-transformations, high explosives, and detonation physics; for extensive contributions to the shock physics community through mentorship and teaching; and for service to the Shock Compression Topical Group.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

George E. Duvall Shock Compression Science Award

Nominations deadline
June 3, 2024

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.