Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics

This award recognizes exceptional early-career scientists who have performed original doctoral thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of fluid dynamics. The annual award consists of $1,500, a certificate, travel reimbursement, a registration waiver to attend the annual meeting of the Division of Fluid Dynamics to give an invited talk and accept the award.

Rules and eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student studying at a college or university. The work to be considered must have been accomplished as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. 

First-time nominees must have completed their thesis during the previous calendar year, or by March 31 of the year of the award. A dissertation is "complete" when formally accepted by the nominee's graduate school.

An unsuccessful nominee can be nominated again for a second and final time in the next consecutive year. A new nomination package must be submitted online to be considered for a second year; candidates are not automatically carried over. The nomination letter should clearly state that the candidate was nominated the previous year.

Process and selection

  1. APS Prizes and Awards nomination form (nominee’s contact information, thesis date).
  2. Full copy of the nominee’s Ph.D. thesis.
  3. A thesis summary of maximum five pages (including figures) prepared by the nominee.
  4. A complete curriculum vitae of the nominee.
  5. A scanned signed nomination letter from the thesis advisor. This letter should describe (a) the specific research contributions of the nominee, and (b) the role of the nominee in writing any parts of the thesis that have been published or submitted for publication (please identify these parts of the thesis).
  6. At least two letters, but not more than three, seconding the nomination. At least one letter must be from a person who is not from the nominee's PhD granting institution.
  7. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee).

Establishment and support

The award was established in 1998 to honor the many outstanding contributions to fluid mechanics of Dr. Andreas Acrivos, particularly his years of distinguished editorship of Physics of Fluids. It is supported by donations from members and friends of the Division of Fluid Dynamics.

Recent recipients

Karol Bacik

2023 recipient

For an elegant study of dune-dune repulsion and dune-obstacle interaction using laboratory experiments, data analysis, and mathematical modeling, elucidating the intricate feedback between sediment dynamics and fluid mechanics.

Daphné Lemasquerier

2022 recipient

For an insightful and comprehensive study, based on innovative and elegant laboratory experiments, numerical analysis, and theoretical modeling, of the non-linear dynamics of Jupiter, including its shallow vortices, deep jets, and their complex interactions.

Wai Hong Ronald Chan

2021 recipient

For developing a novel theoretical and computational framework which established fundamental insights into the turbulent bubble breakup cascade in oceanic breaking waves.

Michelle H. DiBenedetto

2020 recipient

For creative and insightful use of theory, simulation, and experiment to reveal the dynamics of non-spherical inertial particles in wave-dominated flows, with application to the behavior of microplastic pollution in the ocean.

Peter Balogh

2019 recipient

For the development of a high-fidelity, versatile numerical methodology to simulate flow of deformable blood cells in dense suspension through highly complex geometries, and for providing insights to the physics of blood flow in physiologically realistic microvascular capillary networks.

See all recipients

The membership of APS is diverse and global, and the nominees and recipients of APS Honors should reflect that diversity so that all are recognized for their impact on our community. Nominations of members belonging to groups traditionally underrepresented in physics, such as women, LGBT+ scientists, scientists who are Black, Indigenous, and people of color (BIPOC), disabled scientists, scientists from institutions with limited resources, and scientists from outside the United States, are especially encouraged.

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.

Andreas Acrivos Dissertation Award in Fluid Dynamics

Nominations deadline
May 1, 2024

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.