TEAM-UP Report: The TIME is Now - Charting a Course to 2030

Recorded -- Mon Nov 20, 2023
2 hours

The AIP National Task Force on African American Representation in Physics & Astronomy (TEAM-UP) conducted a two-year study, releasing a report in 2020 with recommendations for supporting African American undergraduates in physics. The upcoming webinar will discuss report findings, implementation strategies, and feature a panel of academics sharing their experiences.

A recording will be posted soon.

The AIP National Task Force to Elevate African American Representation in Undergraduate Physics & Astronomy (TEAM-UP) released a report in early 2020 on their two-year study of the experiences of African American physics students. The report includes recommendations and a call to action for institutions, faculty, and students who are interested in supporting the success of African American undergraduates in physics.

In this third webinar (view previous webinars), we will inform attendees about the results and recommendations from the TEAM-UP report and highlight the ongoing work focused on implementation of the recommendations within the physics community. The first half of the webinar will include a series of short presentations about the report and next steps. The second half will include a Q&A with a panel of academics who are currently using the TEAM-UP recommendations to make changes in their departments.

After attending, webinar attendees will take away a better understanding of:

  1. The TEAM-UP Report and recommendations
  2. How to get involved in implementation workshops
  3. Next steps for TEAM-UP
  4. How to implement changes using the TEAM-UP report
  5. How to take action at their own institutions

The presentation, panel and Q&A will be recorded, so please register even if you cannot attend live and you will receive a link to the recording. The webinar will be hosted by APS CEO Dr. Kate Kirby and APS President-Elect S. James Gates, Jr. (Brown University, Ford Foundation Professor of Physics & Affiliate Professor of Mathematics).


  • Arlene Knowles (American Institute of Physics, TEAM-UP Project Manager


  • Prof. Tabbetha Dobbins (Rowan University, Interim VP for Research and Dean of the Graduate School, Professor of Physics)
  • Dr. Mary James (Reed College, Dean for Institutional Diversity Chair, A.A. Knowlton Professor of Physics; TEAM-UP, Co-chair)
  • Dr. Dara Norman (National Optical Astronomy Observatory, Associate Scientist)


  • Prof. Keith Bechtol (University of Wisconsin-Madison, Assistant Professor)
  • Prof. Sarah Eno (University of Maryland, College Park, Professor of Physics)

Join your Society

If you embrace scientific discovery, truth and integrity, partnership, inclusion, and lifelong curiosity, this is your professional home.