Council of Representatives

The Council shall focus on all matters of science and membership, including science policy. Responsibilities of the Council, subject to the ultimate oversight and direction of the Board, shall include:

  • Establishment and oversight of the publications of the Society
  • Approval of policy statements and science strategy of the Society
  • Election of nine Councilors to the Board
  • Election of the Speaker of the Council
  • Scientific meetings and conferences
  • Admission of Members and election of Fellows and the standards and requirements for membership and Fellowship
  • All prizes and awards, and other honors bestowed by the Society
  • Final approval of any amendment to the Constitution & Bylaws
  • Any other responsibilities that relate to the scientific mission of the Society and are referred to the Council by the Board, or that are raised by the Council on its own motion or in response to requests by Councilors or Members

Councilors (2024)

Karen Daniels
North Carolina State University
Nominating Committee Chair

Don Lamb
University of Chicago
POPA Chair

Councilors (2021 - 2024)

Manuela Campanelli
Rochester Institute of Technology
Division of Gravitational Physics

Tanja Cuk
University of Colorado, Boulder
Division of Chemical Physics
Assigned Councilor for GERA

Nadia Fomin
University of Tennessee
Southeastern Section
Assigned Councilor for SFW, SMAS, SEGL, S4CS, SMAS

Daniel Fisher
Stanford University
Division of Biological Physics
Assigned Councilor for GSNP and GMED

Gabriela Gonzalez (CSC)
Louisiana State University
General Councilor

Karen Hallberg (Board and CSC)
Instituto Balseiro, Argentina
International Councilor

Laurie McNeil (Board)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Forum on Education
Assigned Councilor for GPER and FOEP

Peter Schiffer (Board, Speaker, CSC)
Princeton University
Division of Materials Physics
Assigned Councilor for GMAG

Karen Winey
University of Pennsylvania
Division of Polymer Physics

Councilors (2022 - 2025)

Omololu Akin-Ojo (CSC)
University of Ibadan, Nigeria
International Councilor

William Barletta (Board, Speaker-Elect, CSC)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Forum on International Physics

Robert Bernstein (CSC)
Division of Particles & Fields
Assigned Councilor for GHP

Kenneth Brown
Duke University
Division of Quantum Information

Xuan Chen
Cornell Laboratory for Accelerator-based Sciences & Education
Forum on Early Career Scientists

Brian Fields
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Division of Astrophysics

Kandice Tanner (Board)
National Institutes of Health
General Councilor

Catherine Westfall
Michigan State University
Forum on the History and Philosophy of Physics

John Wilkerson (Board)
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Division of Nuclear Physics
Assigned Councilor for GFB

Councilors (2023 - 2026)

Michael Brown
Swarthmore College
Division of Plasma Physics
Assigned Councilor for GPAP

Bruce Carlsten
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Division of Physics of Beams

Kristan Corwin
National Institute of Standards and Technology Boulder
Division of Laser Science

Kenneth Podolak
SUNY Plattsburgh
New York State Section
Assigned Councilor for NES, NWS, TSAPS, PSAPS

Howard Stone
Princeton University
Division of Fluid Dynamics
Assigned Councilor for GPC

Xun-Li Wang (Board)
City University of Hong Kong
International Councilor

David Weiss (Board)
Pennsylvania State University
Division of Atomic, Molecular & Optical Physics
Assigned Councilor for GPMFC

Nai-Chang Yeh (Board)
California University of Technology
General Councilor

Councilors (2024 - 2027)

James Adams
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Forum on Industrial and Applied Physics
Assigned Councilor for GIMS

Laura Cadonati
Georgia Institute of Technology
General Councilor

Luisa Cifarelli
University of Bologna and INFN
International Councilor

Beverly Karplus Hartline
Montana Technological University
Forum on Physics and Society
Assigned Councilor for FDI

Amy Liu
Georgetown University
Division of Computational Physics
Assigned Councilor for GDS

Peter Olmsted
Georgetown University
Division of Soft Matter

Dragana Popovic
Florida State University
Division of Condensed Matter Physics

FGSA Councilor to come

Presidential Line, Treasurer, and Editor in Chief (2024)

Young-Kee Kim (Board)
University of Chicago

John Doyle (Board, CSC)
Harvard University

Brad Marston (Board)
Brown University
Vice President

Robert Rosner (Board)
University of Chicago
Past President

David G. Seiler (Board)
National Institute of Standards and Technology (Retired)

Randall Kamien (Board)
University of Pennsylvania
Editor in Chief


Robert McKeown (Past Speaker, CSC)
Jefferson Laboratory and College of William and Mary

(Board) designates members of the Board of Directors
(CSC) designates members of the Council Steering Committee

Nominees for and holders of APS Honors (prizes, awards, and fellowship) and official leadership positions are expected to meet standards of professional conduct and integrity as described in the APS Ethics Guidelines. Violations of these standards may disqualify people from consideration or lead to revocation of honors or removal from office.