Investment Committee

The Investment Committee is advisory to the Finance Committee and consists of the Treasurer as Chair, the CEO (ex-officio, non-voting), the Vice President, and three (3) other members appointed by the President-Elect to staggered three (3) year terms. The Investment Committee meets at least two (2) times per year to review the investment policies of the Society and the strategy and performance of the Society's investments manager, and to make recommendations to the Finance Committee concerning these policies. The Treasurer, as Chair of the Finance Committee, will bring the proposed recommendations to the Board for approval.

Chair: James N Hollenhorst (01/19 - 12/21)
Agilent Technologies

Vice President: Frances Hellman (01/20 - 12/20)
University of California, Berkeley

Member: Jesse I Treu (01/17 - 12/20)
Domain Associates, LLC

Member: Nigel David Goldenfeld (01/18 - 12/20)
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Member: Mark Evans (01/19 - 12/21)
Goldman Sachs

Chief Executive Officer
Kate Kirby

Chief Financial Officer
Jane Hopkins Gould

Director of Finance
Michael Stephens

Darryl Campbell

Committee Administrator
Shana Bowman

APS Committees

The American Physical Society is a volunteer-driven organization. Since 1899, physicists have contributed their time and resources to running the APS in cooperation with a minimal full-time staff. Volunteers are the backbone of the Society. They form the character and direct the Society's progress and development. All APS committees operate on a calendar year basis and committee terms run from January 1 through December 31.

View Full Committee Listing

Information for Committee Members