Historic Sites Committee

The Historic Sites Committee consists of six (6) members selected by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the President-elect to staggered three-year terms. The Chair of the committee is appointed by the President-elect from among the members. The committee selects sites where individuals or institutions have made outstanding contributions to the physics enterprise. These sites will be included in the American Physical Society Register of Historic Sites. The committee approves the wording on the plaques that are presented for display at selected sites and works with representatives from the sites to arrange for suitable presentation ceremonies. A maximum of four sites can be selected by the committee in any calendar year. The Chair of the committee maintains the Ledger that is the official record of the Register of Historic Sites, and reports from time to time to the Council and the Board on the committee's activities.

Chair: Paul H Halpern (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of the Sciences in Phila

Member: Bruce R Barrett (01/16 - 12/18)
Univ of Arizona

Member: Alberto A Martinez (01/18 - 12/20)
Univ of Texas, Austin

Member: Curt Suplee (01/17 - 12/19)
NIST - Natl Inst of Stds & Tech

Member: Joseph D Martin (01/17 - 12/19)
Univ of Cambridge

Member: Diana L Kormos Buchwald (01/18 - 12/20)

Senior Staff
Trish Lettieri, APS

Committee Administrator
Cortney Bougher, APS