APS News

PhysTEC Recognizes Universities for Physics Teacher Preparation

The 5+ Club honors institutions that graduate 5 or more qualified physics teachers in a year

March 11, 2016

PhysTEC 5Plus ClubThe Physics Teacher Education Coalition (PhysTEC) has announced this year's inductees into its 5+ Club, which recognizes institutions that have graduated five or more physics teachers in the past academic year. This is a notable achievement, given the shortage of high school physics teachers in the U.S. Recent estimates indicate that fewer than half of high school physics courses are taught by a well-qualified teacher with a degree in physics. Most institutions graduate fewer than two physics teachers a year, if any.

Twelve institutions made the cut, and Brigham Young University led the pack with 17 graduates in the past year. Illinois State University graduated 10 teachers, and Stony Brook University graduated 8.

The full list of recognized institutions is:
  • Brigham Young University (17 graduates)
  • Illinois State University (10 graduates)
  • Stony Brook University (8 graduates)
  • Arizona State University (6 graduates)
  • Boston University (6 graduates)
  • University of Central Florida (6 graduates)
  • Middle Tennessee State University (5 graduates)
  • Rowan University (5 graduates)
  • Towson University (5 graduates)
  • University of Arkansas (5 graduates)
  • West Chester University (5 graduates)
  • Western Michigan University (5 graduates)

PhysTEC, a partnership between APS and the American Association of Physics Teachers (AAPT), works to improve the education of physics teachers through a variety of programs, including the 5+ Club.