APS News

August/September 2018 (Volume 27, Number 8)

First Group of Fundamental Physics Innovation Awards Announced

The inaugural recipients have been chosen for the new Fundamental Physics Innovation Awards, funded by the Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation. The grants fall into three categories of funding: Lectureship Awards for seminar presentations, Visitor Awards for longer collaborative interactions, and Convening Awards to support small scientific meetings. APS selects the recipients based on recommendations from an external scientific advisory board.

“These awards are about bringing people together to think creatively about how we can take the next steps in fundamental physics beyond the Standard Model,” says Theodore Hodapp, Director of Project Development at APS. “Large mega-projects offer one direction, but table-top physics may offer a window into the underlying physics in completely unexpected ways.”

Moore foundation logo

Edmund Myers, Research Professor of Physics at Florida State University, will receive a Lectureship Award to travel to the Max Planck Institute for Nuclear Physics in Heidelberg, Germany. He will give a seminar on using the spectroscopy of diatomic antihydrogen molecular ions to test CPT symmetry breaking.

Derek Jackson Kimball, Professor of Physics at California State University – East Bay, will receive a Visitor Award to travel to Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel, to work with researchers there on table-top experimental investigations of exotic spin-dependent interactions related to dark matter.

Kim Siang Khaw, Postdoctoral Research Associate at the University of Washington, will receive a Visitor Award to travel to the University of Liverpool, UK, to organize a workshop on experimental methods for measuring a permanent electric dipole moment in muons.

W. Michael Snow, Professor of Physics at Indiana University, will receive a Visitor Award to host Valery Nesvizhevsky (European Center for Neutron Research, Grenoble, France) to give presentations at several institutions on experimental searches for neutron-antineutron oscillations, which can provide insight into the baryon asymmetry of the universe.

Ricardo Alarcon, Cecilia Lunardini, Philip Mauskopf, Tanmay Vachaspati, and Frank Wilczek (all affiliated with Arizona State University) will receive a Convening Award to organize the First Arizona Workshop on Precision Searches for Fundamental Physics.

Mayda Velasco, Carl Eric Dahl, and André Luiz C. de Gouvêa (all affiliated with Northwestern University) will receive a Convening Award to organize a conference on Novel Instrumentation for Fundamental Physics at the Colegio de Física Fundamental e Interdisciplinaria de las Américas in Puerto Rico.

The application deadline for the next round of awards is October 15. For more information visit the Moore Foundation Physics Innovation Awards website.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: David Voss
Staff Science Writer: Leah Poffenberger
Contributing Correspondent: Alaina G. Levine
Publication Designer and Production: Nancy Bennett-Karasik

August/September 2018 (Volume 27, Number 8)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
2018 APS General Election Results
An Evolving and Leading-edge Journal with a Rich History
Interdisciplinary Excellence
2019 APS Medal for Exceptional Achievement in Research Awarded to Bertrand I. Halperin
Spectra Takes on San Diego Comic-Con
First Group of Fundamental Physics Innovation Awards Announced
Missile-Defense Systems May Risk Space Warfare
American Institute of Physics CEO Michael H. Moloney
Top Undergrads Vie for Apker Award
U.S Physics Team Returns from Lisbon
PhysTEC Announces the 2018 National Teacher of the Year
This Month in Physics History
News from the APS Office of Government Affairs
FYI: Science Policy News from AIP
Education and Diversity News
The Back Page