APS News

June 2007 (Volume 16, Number 6)

April Meeting Prize and Award Recipients

April Meeting Prize and Award Recipients
Photo by Ken McCray

Seated (l to r): Bruce Winstein, Amy Barger, Kathryn Miknaitis, Magdalena Djordjevic, Gabriela Gonzalez, Stuart J. Freedman. Standing (l to r): Ronald Drever, Stanley Brodsky, Matthew Bunn, Heinrich Wahl, Italo Mannelli, Joseph Polchinski, Juan Maldacena, David Kestenbaum.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Contributing Editor: Jennifer Ouellette
Staff Writer: Ernie Tretkoff

June 2007 (Volume 16, Number 6)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
Gender Equity: No Silver Bullet but Lots of Ways to Help
New Data Produce Radio Map of North Galactic Pole
NSF's "Broader Impacts" Criterion Gets Mixed Reviews
Preliminary Results from Gravity Probe B Announced at April Meeting
APS and Yale Honor J. Willard Gibbs
April Meeting Prize and Award Recipients
Efficiency is Key to Resolution of Energy Crisis
JLab Experiment Pins Down Neutral Pion Lifetime
First Morehouse Physics Prize Goes to Byron Freelon
MiniBooNE Results Inconsistent with Existence of "Sterile" Neutrinos
New Fermilab Data Favor Light Higgs
Members in the Media
This Month in Physics History
Washington Dispatch
International News
Profiles In Versatility
The Back Page