APS News

December 2005 (Volume 14, Number 11)

Case Contest Seeks 27 Great 20th Century Physicists

To celebrate the World Year of Physics, the physics department at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland is organizing the "27 Physicists Contest," open to participants in 3 categories: high school students, high school teachers, and college undergraduates.

The World Year of Physics, commemorating Einstein’s miracle year of 1905, also coincides with the centennial of the physics building at Case. In 1905, the names of 34 great pre-1905 physicists were engraved on the Case physics building. The names include the well-known, such as Archimedes and Newton to Ben Franklin and Maxwell, and also others not so widely familiar.

There is room on the building for 27 more names. The challenge of the contest is to vote for great 20th-century physicists from a list of over 100 candidates prepared by the Case faculty. Participants in each of the three categories mentioned above can vote for up to 20 candidates. Three prizes will be awarded in each category to the participants whose lists most closely match the final list of 27 names. The deadline to participate is December 31st.

The Case campus, the location of the famous 1887 Michelson-Morley ether-drift experiment, has been designated an Historical Physics Site by the APS (see APS News, May 2005).

To learn more about the contest, and to participate in it, visit the website http://www.phys.cwru.edu/events/WYOP/contest.php.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette
Staff Writer: Ernie Tretkoff

December 2005 (Volume 14, Number 11)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
Baltimore to Host 2006 APS March Meeting
Conference Addresses Problems of Sustainable Development Worldwide
Three Undergraduates Receive APS Apker Awards
Plasma Turbulence, ELM Insights Highlight 2005 DPP Meeting
2006 Policy for Printed Bulletin
Achim Richter Replaces George Bertsch as Editor of Reviews of Modern Physics
Physicist Does Star Turn in TV Reality Show
Hopfield Receives Albert Einstein World Award of Science
Case Contest Seeks 27 Great 20th Century Physicists
Featured PhysTEC University: Arkansas Ramps Up Teacher Preparation
Science and Engineering are Hidden Stars in Stealth
Inside the Beltway: Washington Analysis and Opinion
The Back Page
Members in the Media
This Month in Physics History
Zero Gravity: The Lighter Side of Science