APS News

August/September 2001 (Volume 10, Number 8)

Task Force to Study Prizes and Awards

APS President George Trilling has appointed a task force to review APS Prizes and Awards, and charged it with the responsibility of looking at, among other things, the proliferation of such awards and the criteria for establishing new ones.

The task force will be chaired by Myriam Sarachik, Vice-President of the APS, and has six other members drawn from a spectrum of APS divisions. It is the latest in a sequence of such bodies, the most recent of which was chaired by Mildred Dresselhaus in 1997-1998.

Another element of the charge deals with the relationship between the Society, which oversees and approves the awards, and the individual units that are involved in the selection process. The task force is asked to find "the appropriate balance between the role of the unit involved in that prize or award and the Society's responsibility to ensure adequate uniformity in the selection process."

The complete charge to the task force and the list of members can be found on the web at http://www.aps.org/programs/honors/taskforce/index.cfm. Members of APS who wish to communicate with the task force are invited to send their comments by e-mail to any of the task force members. The task force will begin meeting this summer and is expected to have its report ready sometime next spring.

The web site also contains a link to the Dresselhaus report of 1998.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Alan Chodos
Associate Editor: Jennifer Ouellette

August/September 2001 (Volume 10, Number 8)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
Keeping the Promise: Phys Rev Completes Online Archive
APS Journals, Services Receive High Marks from Members in Survey
APS Selects 27 as 2001-2002 Minority Scholarship Recipients
Physics Students Make Strong Showing at 2001 ISEF
Task Force to Study Prizes and Awards
Physicists Honored with Innovation Awards
Marburger Nominated as OSTP Director
Ramavataram Fellow Completes Year in US
New Programs Push Business Education for Scientists
Viewpoint: Bring Back the OTA!
The Back Page
Members in the Media
This Month in Physics History
Zero Gravity: The Lighter Side of Science