Jennifer Ouellette, APS Newswriter wins Writing Award

In August, the Acoustical Society of America awarded its 1997 Science Writers Award to Jennifer Ouellette, newswriter for APS News, also a contributing editor for The Industrial Physicist (TIP) magazine. The award was bestowed for an article entitled, Science and Art Converge in Concert Hall Acoustics, published in the September 1997 issue of TIP. Ouellette joined the APS staff in the fall of 1989 and began writing news stories for the APS in 1991. She is easily spotted at APS general meetings, thanks to her trademark black leather jacket. While not a physicist by education or training, she now generally knows the answers to physics-related questions on the popular cable TV game show, "Win Ben Stein's Money".

Rush Holt - 5929 Bytes
Rush Holt

Two APS Members Running for Congress

Rush Holt is running as a democrat for the US House of Representatives in the 12th Congressional District in New Jersey and Vernon Ehlers is running for re-election as a republican in the 3rd Congressional District in Michigan. Before running for Congress, Holt was the Assistant Director of the Princeton Plasma Physics Laboratory, an arms control expert at the State Department, an APS Congressional Fellow and a professor at Swarthmore College. Holt was a recent chair of the APS Forum on Education. Vern Ehlers was a NATO post-doc and did nuclear physics research at LBL for several years before becoming a professor at Calvin College prior to coming to Congress. Ehlers is currently the vice-chair of the House Science Committee (see Back Page, this issue for a photo and more information).

APS Fellow Named to National Science Board

President Clinton nominated Anita K. Jones, Pamela A. Ferguson and 1996 Nobel Laureate (and APS Fellow) Robert C. Richardson to serve as members of the National Science Board. The National Science Board establishes the policies of the National Science Foundation. Board members serve six year terms.

Richardson, of Ithaca, New York, is currently a Professor of Physics at Cornell University. In 1996, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics along with colleagues David Lee and Douglas Osheroff. Jones, of Charlottesville, Virginia, is currently a University Professor of Computer Science in the School of Engineering and Applied Science at the University of Virginia. Ferguson, of Grinnell, Iowa, is currently a Professor of Mathematics and formerly the President of Grinnell College in Iowa.

APS encourages the redistribution of the materials included in this newspaper provided that attribution to the source is noted and the materials are not truncated or changed.

Editor: Barrett H. Ripin

November 1998 (Volume 7, Number 10)

APS News Home

Issue Table of Contents

APS News Archives

Contact APS News Editor

Articles in this Issue
Centennial: APS Establishes Travel Grants for Student Centennial Attendance
Centennial: Topical Symposia Arranged for Centennial Meeting
Centennial: APS Ephemera Wanted/APS Centurions
Centennial: Historical Factal
Centennial: A Century of Physics
Centennial: Prominent Physicists CD-ROM
Leo Szilard Lectureship Award is Funded
Physicists To Be Honored at November Meetings
In Brief
Physical Review Focus
Senior Membership
APS Regional Sections Hold Fall Meetings
Inside the Beltway: A Washington Analysis
The Back Page
Zero Gravity: The Lighter Side of Science