Marshall N. Rosenbluth Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Award

This award recognizes exceptional young scientists who have performed original thesis work of outstanding scientific quality and achievement in the area of plasma physics. The award consists of $2,000, a certificate, and a registration waiver to give an invited talk on the recipient’s doctoral research at the annual Meeting of the APS Division of Plasma Physics (DPP), and receive the award at the DPP awards banquet.

Establishment & Support

This award was established in 1985 (originally as the Simon Ramo Award and formerly as the Outstanding Doctoral Thesis in Plasma Physics Award) and endowed in 1997 by General Atomics Inc.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations will be accepted for any doctoral student of a college or university in the United States or for a United States student abroad who has successfully passed his/her final thesis defense within the preceding 24 months of the current nomination deadline. The work to be considered must have been performed as part of the requirements for a doctoral degree. Nomination packages should include a copy of the candidate's thesis. Each nominee will be considered for two consecutive cycles. Updated letters of support may be submitted for the second cycle.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Wednesday, April 1, 2020

The nomination package should include:

  1. APS Prizes and Awards nomination form (nominee’s contact information, thesis date)
  2. Your letter of not more than 1,000 words evaluating the nominee's qualifications for the award. 
  3. At least two, but no more than four, seconding letters.
  4. The nominee's thesis.
  5. Demographics form (if known/wish to specify age, gender, race, and ethnicity of the nominee)

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2019 Selection Committee Members: Alexey Arefiev (Chair), Lorin Matthews (Vice-Chair), Eric Held, Stewart Prager, Ping Zhu

Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of women and members of underrepresented minority groups are especially encouraged.