I.I. Rabi Prize in Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics

To recognize and encourage outstanding research in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics by investigators who have held a Ph. D. for 10 years or less. The prize consists of $10,000 and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. An allowance will be provided for travel expenses of the recipient to the Society meeting at which the prize is presented. It is awarded in odd-numbered years.

Establishment & Support

The prize was endowed in 1989 by family, friends, and colleagues of I. I. Rabi.

Rules & Eligibility

Nominations are open to scientists of all nationalities regardless of the geographical location at which the work was done. The prize shall ordinarily be awarded to one person but may be shared when all recipients have contributed to the same accomplishment. Nominations are active for three years.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, July 2, 2018

The nomination package must include:

  • A letter of not more than 5,000 characters evaluating the qualifications of the nominee(s).

In addition, the nomination should include:

  • A biographical sketch.
  • A list of the most important publications.
  • At least two, but not more than four, seconding letters.
  • Up to five reprints or preprints.

There may be additional requirements for particular prizes and awards. Please read the rules carefully.

The online nominations system will open toward the end of 2016. Watch for email and website announcements that the site is open to accept new nominations and update material for continuing nominations.

To start a new or update a continuing nomination, please see the Prize & Award Nomination Guidelines.

2019 Selection Committee Members: TBD


Serving a diverse and inclusive community of physicists worldwide is a primary goal for APS. Nominations of qualified women, members of underrepresented minority groups, and scientists from outside the United States are especially encouraged.

2017 Recipient

Martin Zwierlein
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Martin Zwierlein

Past Recipients

2015: Ian Spielman
2013: Markus Greiner
2011: Cheng Chin
2009: Mikhail Lukin
2007: Jun Ye
2005: Deborah Jin
2003: Mark A. Kasevich
2001: Christopher Monroe
1999: Mark George Raizen
1997: Eric Allin Cornell
          Wolfgang Ketterle
1995: Randall G. Hulet
1993: Timothy E. Chupp
1991: Chris H. Greene