Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Jun Ye
JILA, NIST/University of Colorado, Boulder


"For ground-breaking contributions to precision measurements and the quantum control of atomic and molecular systems, including atomic clocks."


Jun Ye received his Ph.D. from the University of Colorado, Boulder in 1997. He is currently a JILA fellow, a joint institute of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) and the University of Colorado. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a fellow of NIST, a fellow of the American Physical Society, and a fellow of the Optical Society of America. His research focuses on the frontiers of light-matter interactions and includes precision measurement, quantum physics and ultracold matter, optical frequency metrology, and ultrafast science. He has co-authored over 300 scientific papers and has delivered 500 invited talks. Awards and honors include the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Rabi Award, a U.S. Presidential Distinguished Rank Award, three U.S. Commerce Department gold medals, foreign member in the Chinese Academy of Sciences, Frew fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, I.I. Rabi Prize of the American Physical Society, European Frequency and Time Forum Award, Carl Zeiss Research Award, William F. Meggers Award and Adolph Lomb Medal from the Optical Society of America, Arthur S. Flemming Award, Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers, Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Award of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, and Samuel Wesley Stratton Award and Jacob Rabinow Award from NIST.  


Selection Committee:

2021 Selection Committee Members: Ron Walsworth (Chair), Phil Bucksbaum (2020 Recipient), Kang-Kuen Ni, Linda Young, John Bohn, Blayne Heckel, Mike Snow