Prize Recipient

Alvin V. Tollestrup


"For their outstanding achievement in the development of the basic understanding of the mechanical and thermodynamic properties of superconductors and the development of construction methods and quality control for their use in large pulsed high field magnets. This important accomplishment opened the door for the economical construction of high energy particle accelerator facilities such as the Fermilab Tevatron and other machines of even higher energy."

Selection Committee:

B.N. McDaniel, Chair; G. Loew; R. Palmer; D.W. Kerst; J. Leiss