Prize Recipient

Kristopher Klein
University of Arizona


"For the theoretical development of the field-particle correlation technique and its application to spacecraft measurements directly showing that electron Landau damping plays a role in the dissipation of space plasma turbulence."


Kristopher G. Klein received his B.A. in physics and mathematics from Luther College in 2008 and his PhD from the University of Iowa in 2013, working with Prof. Gregory Howes on the study of solar wind turbulence using combinations of spacecraft observations and numerical simulations. After postdoctoral positions at the University of New Hampshire as a NSF AGS research fellow and at the University of Michigan, he is now an Assistant Professor at the University of Arizona in the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory. Dr. Klein's research focuses on studying fundamental plasma phenomena that governs the dynamics of systems within our heliosphere as well as more distant astrophysical bodies. He has particular interest in identifying heating and energization mechanisms in weakly collisional plasmas as well as evaluating the effects of the departure from local thermodynamic equilibrium in such systems. He is the deputy Principal Investigator for the upcoming NASA mission HelioSwarm, a planned constellation of nine spacecraft designed to characterize the structure and dynamics of turbulent near-Earth plasmas. He is a member of APS, AGU, and AAS. His honors include selection as a National Academy of Sciences New Leader in Space Physics and the NASA Early Career Investigator Award.

Selection Committee:

2022 Selection Committee Members: William Heidbrink (Chair), Vladimir Tikhonchuk (Vice Chair), Andrea Ciardi, Tammy Ma, Kristel Crombe, Troy Carter