Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Yevgen Kazakov
Laboratory for Plasma Physics, Royal Military Academy, Brussels, Belgium


"For experimental verification, through collaborative experiments, of a novel and highly efficient ion cyclotron resonance heating scenario for plasma heating and generation of energetic ions in magnetic fusion devices."


Yevgen Kazakov, Ph.D., is a research scientist at the Laboratory for Plasma Physics of the Ecole Royale Militaire – Koninklijke Militaire School (LPP-ERM/KMS) in Brussels. Dr. Kazakov is one of the main coordinators of the experimental development of novel ion cyclotron resonance heating (ICRH) scenarios on JET (Culham, UK) and AUG (Garching, Germany) tokamaks. He is currently deputy leader of the task force ‘Heating, Fueling and Current Drive’ on the stellarator Wendelstein 7-X (Greifswald, Germany), and coordinates the development of high-performance heating scenarios and fast-ion physics studies in W7-X. Dr. Kazakov received his MSc degree in 2007 and his PhD in 2011 in plasma physics from the V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University (Kharkiv, Ukraine). His PhD thesis, supervised by Prof. Igor Girka, focused on theoretical studies to enhance the efficiency of mode conversion of ion cyclotron waves in fusion plasmas. In 2011, Dr. Kazakov joined the Chalmers University of Technology (Göteborg, Sweden) as a postdoctoral researcher and member of the plasma theory group led by Prof. Tünde Fülöp. During his postdoctoral stay at Chalmers, he was awarded an EFDA Fusion Researcher Fellowship for his project to study the interaction between ICRH heating and impurities in tokamak plasmas. Since 2013 he is employed by LPP-ERM/KMS in Brussels, and in 2015 he was promoted to a non-stipendiary (oavlönad) docent at the Chalmers University of Technology.

Selection Committee:

2018 Selection Committee Members: David Meyerhofer, Los Alamos National Laboratory (Chair); Emilia Solano, Laboratorio Nacional de Fusion (Vice Chair); Eva Kovačević, CNRS/Université d'Orléans; Carlos Romero-Talamas, University of Maryland, Baltimore County; Steven Sabbagh, Columbia University; Vladimir Tikhonchuk, University of Bordeaux.