Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Charles C. Han
National Institute of Science & Technology


"For outstanding contributions in the application of light and neutron scattering to the physics of polymer phase separation."


Dr. Han graduated from National Taiwan University with a B.S. in Chemical Engineering in 1966 and from the University of Wisconsin, Madison, with a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry in 1973. He joined the Polymers Division of the National Institute of Standards and Technology (formerly the National Bureau of Standards) in 1974. He has been staff scientist, group leader and recently NIST fellow.

Dr. Han's areas of interest and research have been related to polymer dynamics in dilute, semidilute and concentrated solutions; the molecular conformation and domain structures of block copolymers; and also the equilibrium phase behavior and kinetics of phase decomposition of polymer mixtures. His recent research includes the phase behavior of polymer blends under shear field and phase decomposition on the surface.

Dr. Han has been the recipient of the Dillon Medal of the APS, the Gold Medal of the U.S. Department of Commerce, the Samuel Wesley Stratton Award of NIST, and the Humbolt research award from Germany.

Selection Committee:

Eric J Amis (Chair), William J. MacKnight, Murugappan Muthukumar ('98 Recipient), Anna Balazs (Vice Chair), William W. Graessley