Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Benedikt Geiger
Max Planck Institute fur Plasmaphsik


"For greater understanding of energetic particle transport in tokamaks through collaborative research."


Dr. Benedikt Geiger studied physics at the Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) in Munich graduated with the degree “very good” in 2009. His studies included two semesters abroad at the Université Joseph Fourier in Grenoble/France with an internship at the European Synchrotron Radiation Facility (ESRF) Grenoble. He wrote his diploma thesis at the Max Planck Institut für Plasmaphysik (IPP) in Garching/Munich on the subject „Optimization of ion temperature and rotation measurements by CXRS” (mark: very good). From 2009 to 2012 Dr. Benedikt Geiger worked on his Ph. D. thesis „Fast-ion transport studies using FIDA spectroscopy at the ASDEX Upgrade tokamak” at IPP Garching. For his Ph. D. thesis he received the degree of “summa cum laude” and was awarded with the Otto Hahn medal of the Max-Planck Society. In 2012 Mr. Geiger was the winner of the EPS Poster Prize and received high recommendation by the Itoh Project. Since 2013 he is employed as Post-Doc at the IPP in Garching and is working on the further extension of the fast-ion diagnostic capabilities at the ASDEX Upgrade tokamak.

Selection Committee:

Frederick Skiff, Chair; Martin Greenwald; Jonathan Wurtele; Richard Dendy; Alexander Piel; Christine Labaune