Prize Recipient

Recipient Picture

Glenn Fredrickson
University of California, Santa Barbara


"For insightful and predictive theories regarding the thermodynamics and dynamics of macromolecular systems."


Glenn H. Fredrickson received his B.S. from the University of Florida in 1980, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Stanford University in 1984, all in chemical engineering. He subsequently joined AT&T Bell Laboratories, and was named Distinguished Member of Technical Staff in 1989. In 1990 he moved to the Chemical Engineering and Materials Departments of the University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB). He served as Chair of Chemical Engineering from 1998 to 2001 and in 2001 founded the Mitsubishi Chemical Center for Advanced Materials (MC-CAM). Professor Fredrickson currently holds the Mitsubishi Chemical Chair in Functional Materials and serves as MC-CAM Director and Associate Director of UCSBs Materials Research Laboratory. He has approximately 200 refereed publications and a long-standing interest in the statistical mechanics of complex fluids, especially polymers and glasses. His current research is focused on developing field-based computer simulation strategies to assist the design of polymer solution and melt formulations. Honors include the NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award, the Sloan Fellowship, the Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, the Dillon Medal and Fellowship in the American Physical Society (APS), the Alpha Chi Sigma Award of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers, and election to the National Academy of Engineering.

Selection Committee:

Anne Mayes (Chair), Pierre Wiltzius (12/06), Ludwik Leibler ('06 recipient) (12/06), Sandra Greer (12/06), Ben Chu (12/07)